Sorry for the delay in getting some posts up on this blog. I have been traveling and it gets a bit difficult to post without access to the internet.

A few tidbits on my journey.

I was traveling to Canada, and yes flying. We all know that climate change is affecting our planet and green house gases are the culprit. Much of these greenhouse gases come from transportation; cars, planes, trains, space ships. Ok…maybe not space ships as I am assuming that Martians are better at being carbon neutral than humans.

I enjoy traveling but I do not enjoy being part of the growing problem of heating up the earth. Whenever possible I choose methods of transportation that are ecologically sound. However, sometimes I can not get away from plane rides. Normally when I do fly I am faced with a great deal of guilt since I totally get what is spewing out of the tail of each plane that I am on.

To reduce the amount of guilt I subject myself to, and of course to reduce the amount of greenhouse gases I am responsible for, I go to a great site called Sustainable Travel International.org (STI). Check out the site when you have a chance. STI has a calculator which shows me what my carbon footprint looks like with each flight, and what it will take to off set the full amount of this footprint. The calculator shows a dollar amount. I can then choose to invest this dollar amount into carbon credits. Sometimes along with carbon credits I will also give to the National Arbor Day Foundation and have them plant trees on my behalf.

I am also noticing that a lot of airline companies are choosing to get into the action by offering passengers a way to offset their carbon footprint. For example British Airways offers its customers a convenient method to offset carbon emissions of flights during the purchase of an airline ticket.

Air Canada, the carrier I was using for my most current travel experience, has introduced a host of changes to curb carbon emissions. Some of the changes include increasing fuel efficiency, reducing stalling time on the runway, engaging air traffic controllers in providing routes that minimize flying time.

Air New Zealand is currently working with Boeing to come up with a biofeul that can be used to power its fleet of aircraft. If Air New Zealand’s pilot biofuel project works out we could be looking at a definite advance in curbing carbon emissions…and  guilt.

Happy Travels!

Author: Anila Muhammad

