I woke up this morning and came out of my room to find one of my cats intensely looking out the window. First I thought it was a bug she was watching on the window only to realize that in the bitter cold of winter there are no bugs. So I came up to the window to figure out what she was looking at. Sitting right outside my window in the tree was a beautiful hawk.  

I quickly ran to grab my camera, got out on my balcony, and snapped.

I was not very far from this creature and we looked at each other for a few moments. Me admiring its absolute, breathtaking beauty, all the while shivering in my PJ’s. I have a feeling the hawk was not admiring me, instead was attempting to understand what the heck kind of creature I was (I could tell from the look on its face, or beak?).  

Then after having contemplated my existence it silently unfolded its wings and lifted off of the tree branch. With perfect precision and grace it glided away leaving me to watch its image grow smaller and smaller across the horizon.   

Seeing a creature such as this, up close, is something I can not describe. I feel elated, blessed, and awed to have had this experience. Elated because I was in such close proximity to an aspect of creation that I have only been able to admire from a distance. Blessed to have had the chance to gaze upon the absolute perfection of one of Allah’s creation (absolute, utter, unequivocal, perfection). Awed at the magnitude of its splendor.  

To me this experience was a form of prayer, a form of worship. Where, within a few short seconds (though it seemed much longer) I connected in a deep and meaningful way with my Creator and somehow life seemed to be infused with meaning and joy. Where I was present in the moment, no thought of the past or the future, just knowledge of the “now”. Where comfort and calm, that, at times seems to allude me, at that moment surrounded me.  

A gift from the Universe that I will treasure.

Note: The picture of the hawk I have included here had to be sized down for WordPress. It is difficult to see the full details and it does reflect how close I was to this creature. If you would like the original picture please send me an email.

